Make your own free website on
Welcome To Our Informational Page About

The Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

The Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is one of two branches of Freemasonry to which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the first three degrees of the Symbolic or "Blue" Lodge. The Scottish Rite includes the degrees from the 4̊ through the 32̊. Although there are many Scottish Rite members of Scottish ancestry, the Scottish Rite actually originated in France in the early 18th century. During the 18th century, lodges were organized in the United States with the first Scottish Rite Supreme Council founded in Charleston, South Carolina, in 1801.

The Northern Masonic Jurisdiction was formed in 1867 and includes the 15 states east of the Mississippi River and north of the Mason-Dixon Line and the Ohio River, including Delaware. The Southern Masonic Jurisdiction encompasses the 35 remaining states, the District of Columbia and the United States territories and possessions. The Northern Jurisdiction officially recognizes and enjoys friendly relations with many other jurisdictions around the world.

Scottish Rite shares the same belief of all Masonic organizations that there is no higher degree than that of Master Mason. The Supreme Council and its subordinate bodies acknowledge the Masonic supremacy of the Symbolic Grand Lodges and Grand Masters within their jurisdictions. Scottish Rite degrees are in no way higher than the degrees of the Symbolic lodges. The work of the Scottish Rite serves to elaborate on and amplify that of the Symbolic lodge.

The Scottish Rite degrees are lessons taught through allegory in the form of plays. The lessons are taken from Biblical as well as more modern historical events. Cast members use costumes and makeup to look like the characters who they represent. Candidates learn the lessons by observing the presentation. Memorization of material presented is not required. The Scottish Rite is open to all Master Masons in good standing.

The 33̊ is conferred annually, at the meeting of the Supreme Council, upon a select number of 32 ̊ Scottish Rite Masons who have contributed outstanding service to Freemasonry or Scottish Rite or who have exemplified, in their daily lives, the true meaning of the Brotherhood of Man under the Fatherhood of God. A recipient must be at least 33 years of age and may not apply for the degree.

Scottish Rite members meet in local or regional "Valleys" and are organized into four parts; Lodge of Perfection, 4̊ - 14̊;Council of Princes of Jerusalem, 15̊ - 16̊; Chapter of Rose Croix, 17̊ - 18̊ and Consistory, 19̊ - 32̊. Some individual Valleys do not contain all four parts. For example, there is the Valley of Madison; the Valley of Milwaukee; the Valley of Eau Claire; and the Valley of LaCrosse.

If you are a Master Mason and wish additional information about Scottish Rite, contact any Scottish Rite Mason, your local Valley, or the Supreme Council.

Wisconsin Scottish Rite Schedule

Eau Claire 4/12 (4̊, 11̊, 12̊, 14̊), 4/13 (8̊, 15̊, 18̊, 24̊, 25̊, 26̊), 4/27 (23̊, 29̊, 32̊)

Green Bay 4/6 (4̊, 6̊, 14̊, 16̊), 4/13 (18̊, 29̊, 32̊)

La Crosse 3/13 (15
̊), 3/25 (7̊, 18̊)

Madison 2/18 (20
̊, 26̊), 4/13 (4̊, 6̊, 12̊, 14̊, 16̊, 18̊), 4/20 (19̊, 23̊, 31̊, 32̊)

Milwaukee 2/18 (31
̊), 4/25 (13̊, 14̊), 4/26 (15̊, 18̊), 4/27 (24̊, 25̊, 32̊)

Dates shown above are based upon advance information received from local Valleys. Prospective visitors should verify dates with the Secretary of the Body to be visited before making definite plans. Also, a number of Valleys are in the process of changing meeting sites, degree conferring schedules, or experimenting with new locations for degree work.



Thirty-Second Degree 'Double-Eagle'

Return to Previous Page

Notice: The Scottish Rite of Freemasonry background is (C) Copyright 1998, by Dan Pushee, KYCH, and is used by permission. I would like to thank Brother Dan for his excellent work in creating this wonderful background.